Katy Texas

The Online Resource Directory for Katy, Texas

Katy, TX (March 2, 2016) Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center (TMC) and Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital are proud to announce the two individuals selected as their 2015 Physicians of the Year: Saleem Khan, M.D., Chief of Emergency General Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth, affiliated with Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, and KuoJen Tsao, M.D., the Children’s Fund, Inc. Distinguished Professor in Pediatric Surgery at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth and co-director of The Fetal Center at Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital.

Dr. Khan was nominated by four different employees recognizing him for his kind demeanor and his inspirational leadership. Nominators lauded Dr. Khan for his efforts to make others feel appreciated and comfortable. One employee described him as “the kind of doctor that all doctors should be like” and added that Dr. Khan treats employees like family and “will do anything in the world for all of his staff.”

mem her2

Pictured: Brian Dean, Senior Vice President & CEO of Memorial Hermann-TMC; Saleem Khan, M.D.; and Stanley Rhone, Director of Respiratory and Pulmonary Services for Memorial Hermann-TMC

Dr. Tsao also received high praise for his compassion with patients, employees and colleagues. One nomination said that Dr. Tsao earned the respect of employees at all levels because he is trustworthy, dependable and has a deep passion for his job. “Dr. Tsao is a true example of what every children’s hospital is searching for in a physician champion to drive a safety-focused culture,” the nominator wrote.

mem her

Pictured: Courtney Tsao, wife of Dr. Tsao; Susie Distefano, Senior Vice President & CEO of Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital; KuoJen Tsao, M.D.; and Stanley Rhone, Director of Respirator and Pulmonary Services for Memorial Hermann-TMC

The Physician of the Year award is an employee-driven initiative recognizing those who go above and beyond to deliver exceptional patient care. Dr. Khan and Dr. Tsao were presented with their awards at a recent dinner for hospital leadership, physicians, the honorees, and guests. Each received a framed plaque and a monetary gift to the charity of their choosing.

Courtesy of Memorial Hermann


Share this: