Katy Texas

The Online Resource Directory for Katy, Texas

The National Merit Scholarship  Corporation today released the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 57th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. A total of 51 of these talented seniors are from Katy ISD.  As Semifinalists, these students now have a chance to compete for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $34 million, that will be offered in spring 2012. 

Katy ISD’s 2012 Semifinalists are:

Cinco Ranch High School: Varun Bora, Amy Chen, Nicole Chu, Jonathan Crookham, Raymond Han, Selena Ilbeig, Ha Jung, Brian Lambert, Tianyi Liu, Yuxuan Liu, Ariana Peruzzi, Rohit Rekhi, Camilo Ruiz, Rachel Stepanek, Matthew Stromberg, Amber Wang, Raymond Xu, Kevin Yates, Ge Yu, Bert Zhang, Evan Zhang and Yiwen Zhang.

Katy High School: Kendall DeBoer and Ted Deng.

Mayde Creek High School: Mark Jablinski and Bo Suh.

Seven Lakes High School: Daniel Brown, Shannon Cheng, Xuezhen Du, Shelley Fang, Abhishek Garg, John Haley, Melissa LeRoy, Kami Lowery, Rajneesh Nair, Karson Ota, Juhie Vyas, David Wang, Jonathan Xu, Renee Zhan, Ming Zhao and Grant Zheng.

Taylor High School: Ariel Chen, Stephanie Chung, Alexander Hunn, Anse Kwak, Jenna Netland, Elizabeth Neville, James Pinkerton, Henry Wang and Clare Zhang.

In order to become a finalist, all semifinalists must maintain an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by their high school principal, and earn SAT scores that  confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

Please mention you found this on www.KatyMagazine.com.

Share this: