Katy Texas

The Online Resource Directory for Katy, Texas

Final ratings released today by the Texas Education Agency show that outstanding student achievement produced a Recognized accountability rating for Katy ISD for the fourth straight year, even as the state eliminated the Texas Projection Measure (TPM), a controversial formula introduced in 2009-10. The district also achieved its Recognized rating for 2009-10 without the use of TPM and has maintained its Recognized rating for the past four years while the state standards for achievement have continued to increase.

The following reflects the district ratings for the last four years, including the use and non-use of TPM for 2009-10:

2010-11: Recognized
2009-10 (without TPM): Recognized
2009-10 (with TPM): Recognized
2008-09: Recognized
2007-08: Recognized
2006-07: Acceptable

On the 2011 Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS), district-wide performance for all students tested in all grades reached the Exemplary level in all areas tested including reading/language arts (96%), math (93%), writing (97%), social studies (98%), and science (92%). Katy ISD reached the Exemplary level on 19 out of 25 TAKS performance indicators (five student groups tested in each of five subject areas), and Recognized on the remaining six.

“Our Recognized rating is a testament to our attention given to ensure that each individual student’s need is addressed. We set a course four years ago to repurpose resources so that teachers would have the support they needed in order to accomplish this necessary work. I am pleased that through collaborative efforts our KISD teachers, staff, and students have continued to rise to the state’s ever changing standards. The entire community should be proud of this achievement,” says Katy ISD Superintendent Alton Frailey.

The TPM formula used in 2009-10 counted students as passing the TAKS if those students improved to a degree that they could be expected to pass the TAKS exam in a future year. The elimination of the TPM results in a rating change for some individual campuses when compared to last year. This year 45 out of 50 campuses earned either “Exemplary” or “Recognized” ratings, with 18 (36%) ranked “Exemplary” and 27 (54%) ranked “Recognized.” Five campuses (10%) are ranked “Acceptable.”

The linked chart reflects the campus ratings for the last four years, including the use and non-use of TPM for 2009-10.  From 2007-08 through 2010-11, the number of campuses moving from Acceptable to either Recognized or Exemplary has increased.

Katy ISD’s Exemplary campuses for 2010-11 are Alexander Elementary, Exley Elementary, Fielder Elementary, Griffin Elementary, Hayes Elementary, Holland Elementary, Katy Elementary, Kilpatrick Elementary, Pattison Elementary, Rylander Elementary, Schmalz Elementary, Stanley Elementary, Stephens Elementary, Williams Elementary, Winborn Elementary, WoodCreek Elementary, Beckendorff Junior High, and McMeans Jr. High,

Recognized campuses are Bear Creek Elementary, Cimarron Elementary, Creech Elementary, Franz Elementary, Golbow Elementary, Hutsell Elementary, King Elementary, Mayde Creek Elementary, McRoberts Elementary, Memorial Parkway Elementary, Morton Ranch Elementary, Nottingham Country Elementary, Rhoads Elementary, Sundown Elementary, West Memorial Elementary, Wolfe Elementary, Beck Junior High, Cardiff Junior High, Cinco Ranch Jr. High, Katy Junior High, McDonald Junior High, Memorial Parkway Jr. High,, West Memorial Jr. High, WoodCreek Junior High, Cinco Ranch High School, Seven Lakes High School, and Taylor High School.

Acceptable campuses are Mayde Creek Jr. High, Morton Ranch Jr. High, Katy High School, Mayde Creek High School and Morton Ranch High School.

Raines High School, the district-wide dropout prevention and recovery campus, received an “Acceptable” rating under state criteria for alternative education sites.

This is the last year for the TAKS before the state transitions to the STAAR, the State of Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness for third- through eighth-graders, and STAAR End-of-Course (EOC) exams for grades 9-12. This year’s ninth grade students, (class of 2015), will start to take End-of-Course exams in the Spring 2012 semester.  Information about the new state assessment and accountability system will be shared throughout the school year.

Please mention you found this on www.KatyMagazine.com.

Share this: